My #Favorite #Memory and Why…with @meganslayer

I have to admit, this prompt stumped me at first. A favorite memory. How broad? You know? I’m better with a little more detail. Like, my favorite camping memory? Favorite birthday memory? Kid one? Critter one? There are so many.

So how about this… my favorite camping memory involves our very first trip. We’d gone to this campground whose pull-through spots were on a hill. At the time, it felt like a mountain, but it was just a hill. It was steep enough we didn’t have enough blocks to level the camper. We also had to turn it around so the front of the camper was going the other way so I’d even go IN the camper. Yeah, it was a little steep. But there was a couple there, an older couple, who found out it was our first trip. The lady insisted on taking our photo with one of those old (I’m dating myself) disposable cameras. She said she’d send the photo to us when she got it developed (again dating myself) because it was our first trip. She was a sweet lady and true to her word, she did send that photo. We have it framed and everything. It was a nice gesture. I will never camp at that campground again (the hill was STEEP!) and I’ll never camp near them, either. Why? The husband died and she lives in Louisiana. She’s no longer traveling. So that’s my favorite camping memory. This lady who didn’t know us, wanted to make sure we had a photo of our first camping trip.

I don’t have a favorite birthday memory, other than the year when I was a kid and I had a small party. My friends decided to play hide and seek. Not a big deal, but one decided to hide in the garbage can. My parents believed garbage was garbage and it wasn’t tidy if it went in the can. I don’t know how this friend ever even thought to climb in in the first place. But she did. When we found her, we had to call her parents to come get her because she was a tad…aromatic. Oddly enough, she moved and we didn’t stay friends. Sad.

As for my kid memories, the ones of my kid, there are so many. He’s a good kid and it’s been a journey to be his mom.

Lastly for now, critter memories. This one is easy. I had been sitting at the computer banging away at my first book, when DH came home. Now before he’d gone out, Tot and I went to one of the local stores and there was an ad for two orange kittens free to a good home. I saw the ad and wanted one of the babies. I’m a sucker for orange kitties. I told DH he rolled his eyes. That’s what he does. Anyway, I resigned myself to him ignoring my impassioned pleas and returned to the story. I’m plugging away on it and talking on the phone. Don’t ask me why. I don’t remember why. Anyway, he came home and had a Bud Light blue box. Now Dh doesn’t drink beer. It’s a quirk of his. So him having a beer box was strange. Turns out, there was a little orange baby in there. He plunked the kitten on my lap. Phone call done. Story ignored, I had my orange baby finally. He was so small and his tail was broken, so it turned left all the time (Kind of like those rear windshield wiper cats, where because the wiper is bent, the tail looks bent…but his was real and we don’t know how it got broken, but it still whipped around).

What about you? What’s your favorite memory? Or are you like me and can’t choose just one? (Sounds like I’m talking about chips…)

Since you’re here, check out Billion Dollar Love: Manlove Edition. It’s out now and racing up the charts.

Billion Dollar Love: Manlove Edition @LJLongo @LL_Summers @MeganSlayer Pelaam Victoria Vallo @Louisecwrites ~ Get ready 4 our billionaire bad boys…1 thing they have in commonβ€”when they finally fall in love, they fall hard. #gay #gayromance @evernightpub

14 thoughts on “My #Favorite #Memory and Why…with @meganslayer

  1. Thanks for coming by and good memories all. I especially loved the one of your husband and the orange kitty…. how very sweet (okay, I have to admit that in my imagination I pictured him bringing the pair since they were siblings… ll) what did you name it?

    • The lady who rescued them kept the other baby because she liked him. I named him Kenny after my favorite race car driver Kenny Wallace. He had a brother from another mother (the cat) named Rusty Wallace. πŸ™‚

  2. Enjoyed your stories. You meet the nicest people out camping. That makes it so much fun. We’ve had a number of cinnamon tabbies, and they are wonderful cats.

  3. That is so cool that you know even today what happened to the lady who took your picture! We love camping. A campfire is definitely a good place to create some awesome memories. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment