How I Decide What to Read Next with @meganslayer #books #Reading

Find the other posts right here: http://longandshortreviews.com/

What is my criteria for how I choose what I’m going to read next… This is a loaded question. Really.

I don’t have one. Not really. I tend to gravitate to books. If someone suggests it, I might read it. If they hand it to me, I’ll probably read it – if it’s a romance book or something that strikes my fancy.

For example: I saw a list on Rollingstone.com for the Greatest Rock Biographies and had to look through it. Now some were ones I’d read. I’ve read a couple of Springsteen books and a couple about the Beatles, but I chose my next reads from that list. I did. I picked one about John Taylor from Duran Duran (autobiography) and one by Ronnie Spector (another autobiography), plus one that was an autobiography/art book by Debbie Harry. Great reads. I highly recommend all of them.

Then there are the books I picked up at the book sale. I get to help sort the books and that means I get the first choice for what to buy. Let me tell you, my bag gets very heavy by the time we’re done. And this way I’ve picked up quite a few good books that I might not have found otherwise. I picked up a Gene Wilder book, My French Whore. I wouldn’t have found that one simply roaming the shelves (it’s a slender volume and easily missed on a shelf), I found The Only Woman in the Room – about Heay Lamarr and her contributions to science and her radio system that prevented jamming (radio frequency hopping), plus a couple Al Franken books and a slew of romance books.

I’ve got a little stack in the kitchen that’s the pile of books to read. It includes Shrill, The Woman Who Wouldn’t, plus a John Grisham book or two. Oh, and a couple Stephen King books.

What about you? What do you like to read and how do you choose what you’re going to read next? I’d love to know!

Since you’re here, why don’t you check out my latest release, Dirty and Sweet. It’s naughty and fun!

Dirty and Sweet by Megan Slayer

Malachi Brothers, book 1

Changeling Press

Contemporary Erotic Romance

Mafia, New Adult, Silver Fox, BDSM, Spanking, Toys

Novella

Art by Bryan Keller

There’s a debt and she’s willing to pay — with her heart!

Alex Malachi wants a sub, but not just any girl. He needs the right one. The moment he sees Jessie, he knows he’s found the perfect sub. He won’t stop until she’s his.

Jessie Brown’s been in lust with Alex Malachi since she started working at his BDSM club, Indigo. When he requests her services, she can’t refuse. Jessie’s always had a thing for older men, and Alex fits her bill. But when Alex realizes Jessie’s father owes him over a hundred grand, will the offer involve paying the bill with her heart?

Available now:

https://www.changelingpress.com/dirty-sweet-malachi-brothers-1-b-3104

https://books.apple.com/us/book/id1536475098

https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/dirty-sweet-5

10 thoughts on “How I Decide What to Read Next with @meganslayer #books #Reading

  1. It’s so cool that you get first pick of sale books! Are these books sales at your local library? Or maybe you work in a bookstore or library or some similar place? 🙂

    • I volunteer for our local Friends of the Library group, which means we help raise money for the library to do it’s thing. One of the ways we raise money is through our annual book sale. Used books and donated stuff. This year we can’t have it due to Covid, but normally we’d have it right before Thanksgiving. One mega sale each November to raise money for the library. It’s cool and I always donate more than probably what I’ve bought, but that’s okay. It goes to the library 🙂

  2. Thanks for coming by! When I worked at the library, that was one of the best jobs….we also held our biggest one late November/early December. I was always able to pick up some Christmas presents! This year, they are trying it online due to Covid…it’s just not the same thing.

  3. I was going to say that that sounded like a Friends of the Library opportunity, or else possibly a used bookstore… My method for deciding what to read next is here.

  4. I love that you can be so open about the books you read! Sounds like it pairs really well with sorting books for sale!! Personally, I like a wide variety of books, but am very much ruled by moods when it comes to the next thing I read!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s