Random Thought Thursday ~ When the Outcome isn’t What You Thought

Check it Out Banner

I’ve mentioned a time or two that I love movies. I love TV, too, but movies are my thing. One thing I’ve noticed is every so often, movies and television shows have a plot that’s easy to figure out. That happens. What might be complicated to me, might be easy to figure out to others. Murder She Wrote is one example. I never knew whodunit until the show revealed it.

But I’ve been thinking about some shows and movies that didn’t quite get to the ending the way I wanted. Now, who am I to say the show/writer/movie/etc was wrong? I’m a writer and I know I’ve got characters who didn’t quite do what I wanted them to do and the ending wasn’t the one I expected.

But there are times when I’ve gotten so emotionally involved in a show/movie that I was upset by the end of the movie.

CONTAINS SPOILERS!! If you don’t want spoilers, then don’t read this part.

For example, I didn’t like the way the character of Credence in Fantastic Beasts. The poor kid was misunderstood and abused. Instead of getting the kid some help, they destroyed him. Wasn’t there a way to talk him down? It felt like the easier answer was to destroy him. Hmm…

Then there’s Night Court. I LOVED that show. From the moment she showed up, I wanted Christine and Judge Harry to get together. They teased at it and that was great, but at the end… that’s when I wasn’t able to stay with the train. Dan, the prosecutor, had chased EVERYONE with a skirt on during the run of the show. The last episode? He’s ready to chase Christine. When was he not? Then Harry chases her, too. I liked that they both did, but I wanted closure. Yes, insert pouty face. Lol. I wanted Harry to get his happy ending.

But that’s how movies and television work. You don’t always get what you want. Is it good storytelling? Copping out? Depends on how you look it it. If you want to be negative, then it’s shortchanging the viewer. For a more positive spin, life doesn’t always work out the way we want.

That doesn’t mean it doesn’t irk me when the story doesn’t take the turn I expect. But that’s a mark of a good show to me. If I’m emotionally involved, then I’m paying attention. It’s worth my time. But then I have odd taste in movies, music and television. I still love Agent Carter and Forever. Neither are on television any longer. Shame.

What about you? Are there shows/movies that had endings you didn’t see coming/didn’t like? Let me know.

Leave a Reply

