Wednesday Random Thoughts ~ Most Remarkable Characters with @MeganSlayer

Check it Out BannerNormally on Wednesdays I write book reviews. I have some books I could review, but I’ve had this blog topic on my mind for a while and I thought maybe I’d build up a bit of a backlog for book reviews and take this week off.

Now to the topic…

I love television and movies. I love music, too. While I was in the middle of a M*A*S*H binge, featuring McLean Stevens as Col. Henry Blake and I got to thinking. There are some truly remarkable characters. Is Henry remarkable? Some might disagree, but I think he is. I love the episodes he’s in more than the later ones. I like to laugh and he’s guaranteed to bring the laughs.  Oh, sure, I like Hawkeye and Trapper, but there’s something about Henry .

So in the middle of this binge, the episode where Henry goes home aired. I don’t know about you, but there are certain movies and tv shows I can’t watch when I know someone won’t make it. The episode, Abyssinia Henry, is one of them. I cry each time. I know what will happen. I’ve seen it a dozen times. But Henry is one of those characters I don’t want to see go away. I cry each time. Yes.

Now I’m going to make a huge jump. M*A*S*H is in a level above CSI: Miami, but these two shows have something in common. The loss of a character. Where I’ll cry because Henry doesn’t make it, I cry because Speedle is shot in the line of duty. I started watching CSI: Miami because I liked Wolfe. I won’t lie. I was drawn to him because he’s cute. Well, he is. But I had to get the rest of the plotline and I like to go back to the beginning with series once I know I’ve come in halfway through. So I binged the show’s first two seasons before they were pulled from the air. (They aren’t making any new CSI: Miami episodes and it’s kind of a shame. I liked that show.) Anyway, I watched and came to love Speedle. He’s a punk, cocky and snarky, but lovable. Plus, he’s kind of cute in a rugged kind of way. I had NO idea he wasn’t going to make it. When that episode came along…I was gobsmacked. Again, I cried. I liked this guy. WTH!

The same thing goes with The Fox and The Hound, Where the Red Fern Grows and Eight Below (but in those cases, it’s the dog(s) that don’t make it. I don’t like when the ones I love die.

Now I understand why the writers get rid of some characters and phase out others. You’ve got to evolve. BUT…that doesn’t mean I have to like it. I don’t like change. I really don’t. I’d prefer to have my characters live on forever.

What about you? Are there shows you have a hard time with because of the characters? Is there one or more that are your favorites?

 

Leave a Reply

