When the Idea Strikes with @MeganSlayer #writing #ideas #creativity

Originally posted at the Romance Studio: https://wp.me/p8f7P3-1xh

Sometimes it seems like the ideas just won’t come. Sometimes they’re stuck. Like, really stuck. I can’t seem to work out what will happen next…at all. No matter what I do, I’m just…stuck.

That happened this past weekend. I’d worked on a story that’s been there the whole time, but just wasn’t ready yet. I had this character who has been difficult. I knew he wanted his story told, but he just wasn’t ready yet. So I thought he was. I started his story and had a word count limit. I knew I’d blow the limit. I tend to do that anyway. But this time, I knew it was going to happen. But I thought, hey, I can turn this into two stories.

Then the story fell apart. Kind of. It wasn’t going to work for the particular situation I was using it for. Now for some writers, this wouldn’t be a big deal. Write it anyway and publish it. But I don’t work that way. I want the story to be right. I don’t like to rush.

So then I was asked to take part in an anthology. I won’t lie. The previous story running into bumps threw my muse into a tailspin. I used to be able to work on two or more manuscripts at one time. Not any longer. I need to concentrate and for me the story works better when I’m focusing on one. So… The previous story wouldn’t work for the anthology, but I really wanted to take part.

What’s a writer to do?

I let my muse have a break. Yep. A big old break. The funny part is, when I let the muse off the hook, that’s when they (I’m convinced my muse is a couple) decided to cooperate. They came up with a fantastic idea. I had no clue they’d do that. Most of the time when I give them a break, they take forever to work with me.

But this post is about the idea striking. I set out to plot the story, since I had the start. But the more I wrote the outline, the more the actual story came forth. Fast and furious. I’ve been working on it ever since. I love when this happens. The story is there, it’s flowing and the idea is fresh. It makes me happy to write. I love to create. When I’m not writing, I’m not…me.

Does this happen to you? Have you ever had something not so fun turn into something fantastic? I’d love to hear about it.

Speaking of something not so fun turning into something pretty great, my upcoming release, Doc Cedarwood. Check it out!

Doc Cedarwood by Megan Slayer

Single Father Society, Book 5

Full Length Novel

Contemporary, M/M, Anal Sex

From Loose Id Publishing

Cover Art by April Martinez

Can an accident and a rim job lead to a lasting love?

Aiden Connor wasn’t looking for a date. Sure, he wanted one, but relationships seem to be too difficult to maintain. He’s an ER doctor and doesn’t have time for commitment…that is until he runs over a curb and needs a new rim for his sports car. The mechanic isn’t anything like he expects, but could be the one man he needs if he’s willing to open his mind and heart.

Matt Phillips equated dating with disaster, but sees himself as an eternal optimist. When he sees Aiden, he wants to give relationships a try. Every cell in his body screams to get the sexy doctor naked and in his bed. But Matt has demons and addictions he’s still working through. Will he fall prey to his past or learn and move forward with the hot doctor?

Available soon from Loose Id Publishing: http://www.loose-id.com/single-father-society-5-doc-cedarwood.html

Leave a Reply

