Monday Movie Review ~ Florence Foster Jenkins by @MeganSlayer

Monday Movie Rundown Banner I’ve wanted to see Florence Foster Jenkins since it came out, but I hadn’t had the chance. Once I saw it was out on DVD, well, I jumped at the opportunity to check it out.

I’d learned about the story of Florence Foster Jenkins from Mysteries at the Museum. She was a remarkable woman.

In this version of her life, she’s presented as a force of nature. She’s already sick and any sort of excitement isn’t good for her, but she’s determined to become a singing star. Her husband starts her out on the road to stardom by teaming her up with a pianist who’d rather play Carnegie Hall than behind an older woman warbling.

I’ve always loved Meryl Streep. I mean, the woman can act. There were times, though, in this story that I felt like I was watching Meryl Streep PLAY Florence. She didn’t disappear into the role as much as I’d thought she would. Still, I was entranced by her.

Hugh Grant, though, seemed to have played the part, but not all the way. I could see him as the dashing younger husband and there were moments I didn’t like him at all. But I kept seeing Hugh Grant, not Florence’s younger husband.

But the movie was worth the watch. I rooted for the blonde who initially laughed at Florence, because she redeems herself. Plus, Florence HEADLINED at Carnegie Hall. How awesome was that?

Maybe Florence wasn’t the great songstress she believed herself to be, but she tried and that’s more than a lot of people can admit. Beautiful backgrounds and a lovely story, this is a movie not to be missed.

Leave a Reply

