Monday Movie Rundown

This past week, mostly the week and not the weekend… I took in a few movies while I wrote. I did manage 13k during the week – great, but not the best. I had aimed a little higher, but oh well.
 
What did I watch? Oh boy, is there a selection.
 
Burnt – Bradley Cooper. I wanted to like the movie. I did. Daniel Bruel (I think that’s how it’s spelled) was in it and really good. I liked him from Rush. But overall… He came, he cooked, he threw Gordon Ramsey style fits, he acted like a jerk and he went. I never warmed to him and I like Bradley Cooper. Just… meh.
 
Maleficent – I really liked this one. Beastie. Hee hee. I liked how it wasn’t true to the cartoon, although I do love that cartoon. Angelina Jolie was pretty danged good. Oh and those outfits… holy moly. S&M dreams right there. I do have a soft spot for Sharlto Copley and kind of wished he hadn’t turned out to be such a crazy, but it worked for the movie and if I want to see him as lovably deranged, I’ll watch the A-Team again.
 
The Crowd Roars – never heard of it? This movie is most likely before ANY of our time, but that’s what makes it good. It’s an old James Cagney and Joan Blondell flick. If you haven’t seen anything by Joan Blondell, you should. This one features racing at Indy. It’s dirty, stinky and there is a lot of passion. Check it out.
 
She Done Him Wrong – Okay, I have to admit, I’m a sucker for Cary Grant. Pretty much ANY Cary Grant movie will do, but I’ve always liked Mae West. She wasn’t teensy. Wasn’t cutesy. She said what she meant and got what she wanted. I love the comedy in this one, too. They don’t make movies like this one and they should. Just not a remake.
 
Die Hard – Yep. I have a confession. I’ve NEVER seen this movie. Not until Friday. Never. And I’m not in the ‘this is a Christmas movie’ camp. Sorry. Maybe it takes place over Christmas, but that was about it. Silly. But lots of sh*t got blown up, so whatever. Plus Alan Rickman was delightfully evil. Not one I’d watch again, but that’s just me.
 
Ghost Rider 2 – Spirit of Vengeance – The only redeeming quality to this movie was Johnny Whitworth. I loved him in Empire Records and plus… look at him! But good gravy. Nic Cage phoned in his performance. The destruction of machinery was laughable. I guess someone wanted to take a decent plot (I’m sure the comic books HAVE to be better than that screenplay) and make tons of cash from it. I sincerely hope they didn’t. It was awful.
 
Those are my thoughts. What about you? Any good flicks? Recommendations? I’m listening and my watch list is getting LONGER… 🙂
Leave a Reply

